Classification of Living Beings

Classification of Living Beings

We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Living beings: zoology created classifications in kingdoms


All living things are made up of cells, they need food, they need to breathe, they are capable of reproducing, and they have a chemical composition made of organic and inorganic substances.

Organic substances are produced only by living beings. They are: proteins, lipids, carbohydrates, nucleic acids and vitamins.

Inorganic ones are present in nature and can be found in elements such as soil, rock, etc. Water and mineral salts (CA, I, Faith, Na, etc.) are excellent examples of this type of substance.

Water has prominence in the chemical constitution of all living beings, it represents from 75 to 85% of its constitution. It is indispensable to life and its lack leads to the difficulty and even the impossibility of the organism to carry out the necessary transport for its balance and maintenance.

Depending on their cell type, living things can be prokaryotes (with cell membrane, cytoplasm, and nucleoid) or eukaryotes (with cell membrane, cytoplasm, and nucleus). They are prokaryotes: bacteria, blue or cyanophytic algae. They are eukaryotes: fungi, plants and animals.

As for their classification, living things are currently divided into five kingdoms:

1. Kingdom Metazoa or Animalia: composed of multicellular and heterotrophic organisms (not able to produce their own energy). They are part of this group: invertebrate animals, vertebrates, birds, mammals, including man.

2. Metaphyta Kingdom or Plantae Kingdom: multicellular beings that have cells covered by a cellulose membrane and are autotrophs (capable of producing their own energy). This group includes lower vegetables (green, red or brown algae), intermediate vegetables (eg fern) and higher vegetables (plants).

3. Monera Kingdom: composed of unicellular organisms (formed by a single cell) and prokaryotes (cells that do not have an organized nucleus). They are part of this realm: bacteria and blue algae or cyanobacteria (formerly considered inferior plants).

4. Kingdom Fungi: It is composed of eukaryotes (organized and individualized nucleus) that can be single or multicellular. They are part of this kingdom: the elemental fungi and the superior fungi (formerly they were classified as inferior vegetables).

5. Protist Kingdom: formed by unicellular and eukaryotic beings. Protozoa (gardias, amoebae, trypanosomes) and lower algae or eukaryotes are present in this kingdom.

NOTE: Viruses have no definite classification because they begin to perform vital functions only after invading the cell structure, sequestering the components that the cell needs to form new viruses.

Biological curiosity:

- Taxonomy is the science responsible for the classification of living beings.